jump to navigation

Windows 10 Start Menu not working August 8, 2015

Posted by hslu in Computer.
Tags: ,
trackback

The reservation took place a while back. Then I got a notice saying that I could upgrade to Windows 10 two weeks ago. I was excited because I skipped Windows 8. The upgrade took about an hour a week ago but it was bearable because the upgrade was free and I thought I was going to get a piece of art work that would replace what I have suffered through over the past 30 or so years. You see I was one of a few people who bought PC and Microsoft to our organization in the early 1980’s.

Well, based on Microsoft’s promotions on the web, this time I had high hope for a new MS OS. After all, the company has a market cap of $375 billion, annual revenue of $93 billion a year and an EBITDA of $34 billion. It also has $96 billion cash on hand. It should be able to do magic on a piece of software.

Well, it worked as promised but many tiles on the Start menu were commercials. I promptly got rid of them as fast as I could. Sucks.

Then something went wrong: Windows button quit working. New user account won’t work. Search didn’t search. Tried many options to bring back Windows button based on suggestions found on the web but none of them worked. I even has the latest Microsoft updates but nothing worked.

I think I will give up trying and do something else like: uninstall Windows 10 and go back to Windows 7; disable Bing, download a third-party start menu or something else.

Frustrating.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

