jump to navigation

Whee! 好險! July 8, 2015

Posted by hslu in Food, Health, Life, Death and Yuanfen.
Tags: , ,
trackback

For a period of a month to 40 days from late April to early June, I thought that I have to give up, in terms of preference, the enjoyment of drinking and eating the following:

  • Wines,
  • Beers,
  • Whiskeys,
  • Steaks,
  • Hamburgers,
  • Shrimps,
  • Calamari, and
  • All other seafood.

You see, I thought I had gout which, according to information on many websites, is caused by high amount of uric acid in the body. Food and alcohol beverages rich in purines, especially beer, should be avoid.

The pain came without any warning. It could happen at any time: day, evening or night. The pain was sudden and excruciating like someone poke me with a sharp boning knife. It last anywhere from 10 to 25 seconds and it would then go away. It always happened at the same place in my body: behind the Achilles tendon of my left ankle.

At first I didn’t know what it was and I didn’t know what to do. It seemed to happen after I had a few too many boiled shrimps at Hibachi buffet. I then suspected it was gout. I started to stop drinking beer and whiskeys. I started to stop eating shrimps, fish and hamburgers. I began to drink a lot of water day in and day out. I began to wonder what life is like without these enjoyments and what life means drinking water, eating chickens and vegetables.

For a week or so, nothing seemed to work and drinking water just increased number of times that I had to go to the bathroom. The pain still came without warning and the frequency didn’t seem to decrease either. Chicken became even more tasteless and I ran out of ways to cook vegetables.

Then the pain stopped happening: a day, 2 days and soon it was a week without pain. I started to drink beer but only 2 or 3 sips at a time. I started to eat hamburger and a few bites of steaks when I had the chance.

Nothing bad had happened. Pain stopped coming for two weeks now. Then people who had gout before told me that what I had wasn’t gout.

Well, gout or no gout, I enjoy my beer especially after eight hours of hard-working in the yard.

But, was my body trying to tell me something?

Comments»

1. anniepani - July 19, 2015

You? Gout? After reading your food laden posts I can’t say I’m surprised! Still I’m probably next on the list.

2. Margaretta - May 19, 2017

67 – All I know (and this is from my partner who grew up working on a flower farm) is that the best time to move trees and established shrubs is in early spring or later fall when thy#2e8&17;re dormant but before the ground freezes.


Leave a Reply

